Sunday, June 2, 2024

✱✱Audio Book Review✱✱ Curveball by Lisa Suzanne


Vegas Heat: The Expansion Team, Book 1
By: Lisa Suzanne
Narrated by: Aiden Snow & Stephanie Rose

She has no idea who I am. I immediately like that about her.

The gorgeous woman who sat down at the blackjack table beside me and asked me to teach her to play doesn't recognize me as the third baseman who played pro baseball for seven years. I tell her I'm in town for a job offer when the truth is my buddy just asked me to leave my quiet existence in San Diego and unretire so I can lead the new Vegas Heat expansion team to the championship.

She simplifies my career dilemma down to doing what will bring me the most joy, and as I spend the weekend with her, I realize she is bringing me more joy than I've experienced in years. Twelve years stand between us, but we agree it doesn't matter as much as our feelings do. And as she takes me out to the middle of the desert to stare up at the stars, I know this is the place I'm meant to be.

I agree to play. I agree to move to Vegas so I can explore whatever this is with her.

But life is about to throw me a curveball I never saw coming.

Curveball is the first book in the Vegas Heat: The Expansion Team series, which must be listened to in order.

Momma Says: 4 stars⭐⭐⭐⭐

Meet cute? You betcha!
Instalove? More like instalust followed by some pretty darn quick love.
Chemistry? Off the charts!
Age gap? Absolutely - a super swoony, sexy older guy and the younger woman who isn't at all intimidated by the decade and change between them.
Needless to say, I had a blast meeting Cooper and Gabby. Their beginning is a zero-to-sixty kind of romance, and I couldn't get enough. These two are just so good together that you can't help but want more of them. Then, there's the big secret looming over them, and they don't even know it. The "curveball" mentioned in the blurb doesn't take long to reveal itself to us, and I spent quite a bit of this one just waiting for Cooper and Gabby to figure it out. And I waited... Now, I knew this was going to be a continuing story. It's right there in black and white at the end of the blurb: "...the first book in the Vegas Heat: The Expansion Team series, which must be listened to in order." Okay, so when's it gonna happen? And I was so caught up that I didn't even realize how close I was to the end of the book. Gah! Cue the tantrum because now I'm dying to know what's next for this pair, so I will be here tapping my foot in impatience, waiting for book 2. However this one plays out, it's sure to be totally yummy!
I'm sure I would've enjoyed this one in ebook format, but I was fortunate enough to listen. I'm pretty sure Aiden Snow and Stephanie Rose set my cell on fire. They are so good! It had been a bit since I listened to Aiden Snow, and I had forgotten just how sexy his voice is. It's like he took Cooper from 10 and turned it all the way up. Stephanie Rose is everything I could've expected from Gabby. She comes across as flighty but fearless, and Rose does it perfectly. The cover of this one even says "Performed by," and that says it perfectly. This is a terrific performance of a terrific book, and I can't wait to see where it all goes. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Susie Drake and the Stolen Memories Virtual Book Tour

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Date Published: 01-06-2024 Publisher: 44th Morning LLC   Haunted by insurmountable grief, the nearly inde...