Thursday, March 7, 2019

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Between the Lies by Michelle Adams


Between the Lies
by Michelle Adams 


In the vein of Allison Brennan, Michelle Adams's Between the Lies is an addictive psychological thriller with twists that keep the reader guessing until the last page, in which a woman who's lost her memory is back home with a family she doesn't know—who are keeping secrets of their own. 

The truth is hiding between the lies.

~~~
What would you do if you woke up and didn't know who you were?

Chloe Daniels regains consciousness in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
She doesn't recognise the strangers who call themselves family. She can't even remember her own name.
What if your past remained a mystery?

As she slowly recovers, her parents and sister begin to share details of her life.
The successful career. The seaside home. The near-fatal car crash.
But Chloe senses they're keeping dark secrets—and her determination to uncover the truth will have devastating consequences.
What if the people you should be able to trust are lying to you?





Momma Says: 4 stars⭐⭐⭐⭐

Between the Lies starts with a terrifying idea and builds from there into a fast paced thriller that kept me guessing. Chloe wakes from a coma with no memory of what happened to her or even who she is. As if that's not bad enough, the more time that passes, the more she's convinced that those she should trust most are lying to her. Unreliable narrators can be quite effective in psychological thrillers and Chloe is certainly unreliable with her lack of memory and strange dreams, but she's not the only one. It seems that everyone around her is keeping some secret or other from her, and their reasons may or may not be in her best interest. I did figure it out before the big reveal, at least in part, but the thing is I thought I had the answer more than once only to be led in another direction, so getting the answer ahead of time didn't diminish my enjoyment. In fact, it made me want to keep going to see if I had it right. All in all, the story held my interest with its many secrets and twisted journey to the truth. Then we get one final twist that definitely had me sitting up and taking notice. The whole thing comes together perfectly and I recommend this one to fans of the genre. 

❃❃ARC provided by NetGalley and St. Martin's Press



No comments:

Post a Comment

Kissing Asphalt by Delicia Niami Virtual Book Tour

Guest Post Why My Books Are Essential Reads for Anyone Seeking Transformation Hey there, fellow book lovers! Today, I want to dive into why ...