Thursday, May 2, 2019

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Perfect Crime by Helen Fields


Perfect Crime: The gripping new crime thriller that you won’t be able to put down! 
A DI Callanach Thriller, Book 5
by Helen Fields


Your darkest moment is your most vulnerable…
Stephen Berry is about to jump off a bridge until a suicide prevention counsellor stops him. A week later, Stephen is dead. Found at the bottom of a cliff, DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner are drafted in to investigate whether he jumped or whether he was pushed…
As they dig deeper, more would-be suicides roll in: a woman found dead in a bath; a man violently electrocuted. But these are carefully curated deaths – nothing like the impulsive suicide attempts they’ve been made out to be.
Little do Callanach and Turner know how close their perpetrator is as, across Edinburgh, a violent and psychopathic killer gains more confidence with every life he takes…
An unstoppable crime thriller from the #1 bestseller. The perfect read for fans of Karin Slaughter and M. J. Arlidge.





Momma Says: 3 stars⭐⭐⭐

When words like gripping and won't be able to put it down are used next to the title, it tends to inspire a certain expectation of what's inside the book. Don't get me wrong, Perfect Crime is a good enough crime thriller, but gripping? Not so much. There are two cases running side by side, and both are way too easy to figure out from pretty early in the story. That said, the book does run the usual formula for the genre, and there are plenty of tense situations to keep things moving along at a good pace. There's also some romance between our two main characters, and honestly, I'm still not sure how I feel about how that part played out. Nevertheless, the story is well-written, and it did hold my interest even after I had it figured out. 

❃❃ARC provided by NetGalley and Avon Books UK


No comments:

Post a Comment

The Maker of Worlds by David Litwack Blurb Blitz

THE MAKER OF WORLDS David Litwack ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Fantasy ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ If you had the chance to remake the world, what kind of world would yo...