Saturday, June 27, 2020

✱✱Book Review✱✱ 2020 Summer Reads Blog Tour: Karen Robards’s THE BLACK SWAN OF PARIS


THE BLACK SWAN OF PARIS Author: Karen Robards ISBN: 9780778309338 Publication Date: June 30, 2020 Publisher: MIRA



For fans of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris comes a thrilling standalone by New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards about a celebrated singer in WWII occupied France who joins the Resistance to save her estranged family from being killed in a German prison. In Occupied France, the Resistance trembles on the brink of destruction. Its operatives, its secrets, its plans, all will be revealed. One of its leaders, wealthy aristocrat Baron Paul de Rocheford, has been killed in a raid and the surviving members of his cell, including his wife the elegant Baronness Lillian de Rocheford, have been arrested and transported to Germany for interrogation and, inevitably, execution. Captain Max Ryan, British SOE, is given the job of penetrating the impregnable German prison where the Baroness and the remnants of the cell are being held and tortured. If they can't be rescued he must kill them before they can give up their secrets. Max is in Paris, currently living under a cover identity as a show business impresario whose star attraction is Genevieve Dumont. Young, beautiful Genevieve is the toast of Europe, an icon of the glittering entertainment world that the Nazis celebrate so that the arts can be seen to be thriving in the occupied territories under their rule. What no one knows about Genevieve is that she is Lillian and Paul de Rocheford's younger daughter. Her feelings toward her family are bitter since they were estranged twelve years ago. But when she finds out from Max just what his new assignment entails, old, long-buried feelings are rekindled and she knows that no matter what she can't allow her mother to be killed, not by the Nazis and not by Max. She secretly establishes contact with those in the Resistance who can help her. Through them she is able to contact her sister Emmy, and the sisters put aside their estrangement to work together to rescue their mother. It all hinges on a command performance that Genevieve is to give for a Gestapo General in the Bavarian town where her mother and the others are imprisoned. While Genevieve sings and the show goes on, a daring rescue is underway that involves terrible danger, heartbreaking choices, and the realization that some ties, like the love between a mother and her daughters and between sisters, are forever.


BUY LINKS:

Harlequin Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million Target Walmart Google iBooks Kobo


Momma Says: 4 stars⭐⭐
The Black Swan of Paris took me by surprise. I really didn't expect to like it as much as I did. The story is full of intrigue and danger as I would expect from the time, but there are so many more layers to this one. It is a book about the perils of Paris during the war, but it's also about family, specifically mothers and daughters, loyalty, friendship, and love. The story is very well written, and the time Karen Robards has taken with research shows in the wonderful descriptions throughout. Then we have the well-drawn characters to draw us in and hold on tight. Everything just comes together for a solid read in the genre, and this is one author I will be reading again.

Karen Robards is the New York Times, USA TODAY and Publishers Weekly bestselling author of more than fifty novels and one novella. She is the winner of six Silver Pen awards and numerous other awards.

 

SOCIAL:

Author Website: http://karenrobards.com/

TWITTER: @TheKarenRobards

FB: @AuthorKarenRobards

No comments:

Post a Comment

Death in Smoke Blitz

  The Cape Mysteries, Book 2 Mystery, Thriller Only $.99 or FREE on Kindle Unlimited A bloodied body buried on Cape Cod. A cold ca...