Tuesday, June 2, 2020

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Perfectly Famous by Emily Liebert


Perfectly Famous
by Emily Liebert


From the USA TODAY bestselling author of Pretty Revenge—a “gripping tale of subterfuge, betrayal, and retribution” (Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish)—comes the story of a journalist obsessed with finding a crime novelist who disappears after a deadly attack on her beloved daughter.

As a mother and a famous author, Ward DeFleur has it all. She lives in a beautiful estate in picture-perfect Connecticut, along with her teenage daughter, Stevie, where nothing can go wrong. Until, one night, when Stevie is brutally murdered and Ward’s entire world is shattered. Consumed by panic and grief, Ward vows never to put pen to paper again.

Enter Bree Bennett.

Bree is a recently-divorced, former-journalist-cum-housewife, desperate to fill her days with something other than Pilates classes and grocery shopping. So she decides to start writing for the town newspaper. What begins as Bree’s effort to tell Ward’s tragic narrative turns into a fixation with finding her favorite author. Unfortunately, Ward doesn’t want to be found. Even worse, Stevie’s killer is still on the loose…

This harrowing tale of one woman’s infatuation and another woman’s fear is full of explosive surprises, perfect for fans of The Night Olivia Fell and Then She Was Gone.
Goodreads          BookBub


Momma Says: 2 stars ⭐⭐

How to destroy a good book in a couple of pages. Seriously, this book is practically a tutorial for that very thing. I enjoyed most of this one well enough. Granted, I had questions, plenty of questions. Sometimes a character would do something for no reason, or at least no reason that I could see, or sometimes things were predictable, but still, the story held my interest well enough to keep me reading. The pacing was good, and despite a reliance on coincidence, I kept going. Then I got to the last of the book, I'd say about 90% in, and the whole thing just goes completely off the rails. Now, I'm all for a great twist to make a reader sit up and pay attention, but the last couple of pages wasn't that. Nope, those last couple of pages were more of a completely out of left field, what in the world, did I miss something kind of thing. I even flipped back a couple of times to see if I'd missed something. It's that far out there that I flipped back more than once. So, maybe that was the intention? I really hope there was some big purpose that I'm missing because otherwise, it's just a bad couple of pages tacked on at the end - just a pretty good thriller with a really bad ending. 

❃❃ARC provided by NetGalley and Gallery Books



No comments:

Post a Comment

Into Africa Tour and Giveaway

  Into Africa by Egon Falk Genre: A Biographical Story This is a gripping and inspiring story of the greatest evangelist in Africa, Dr. Egon...