Thursday, January 21, 2021

✱✱Book Review✱✱ After All I've Done by Mina Hardy

After All I've Done

by Mina Hardy

Writing as Mina Hardy, New York Times bestselling author Megan Hart delivers a thrilling new psychological suspense for fans of The Woman in the Window and When the Lights Go Out.

She's lost her best friend, her husband--and possibly, her mind.

Five months ago, an accident left Diana Sparrow badly injured and missing a few months of her memory. As if that's not enough, she's started having recurring nightmares about the night of the accident. Dreams that feel so real, she's left questioning: maybe she didn't just slide off the road into a ditch. Maybe, just maybe, she hit something. Or someone.

She can't turn to her former best friend Val, who's been sleeping with Diana's husband Jonathan for months, but she might find some comfort in newcomer Cole Pelham. Yet the closer they become, the more Diana begins to wonder what really happened that night--and how Cole might be connected. Worse, it seems everyone else could be involved, too.

Who was with her that night? What really happened? As her life unravels thread by thread and the dreams become too real to ignore, Diana will have to face the unthinkable--and do the unforgivable.



Momma Says: 3 stars⭐⭐⭐

According to the description, After All I've Done is psychological suspense, and that's accurate in part. The thing about that is all too often lately, I find that what is labeled as psychological suspense or psychological thriller ends up being more domestic drama than anything else. This one hits somewhere between the two. It certainly has some suspense, some of it predictable and some not so much, but still suspense. It also has some thrills even if they are a bit over the top. That said, the whole love triangle storyline takes up enough page time to speak to domestic drama. Nevertheless, this one is a quick read and there are plenty of characters to dislike. Seriously, I didn't particularly like a single character in this story, but it felt like we really weren't supposed to like them, and I'll admit that it worked for this book. In the end, there were things I liked about this one and other things that I didn't care for, leaving me somewhere in the middle. It's not a bad story, but it is a little outrageous at times and maybe even a little bit disconcerting.

❃❃ARC provided by NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books



No comments:

Post a Comment

Reluctant Groom Anthology Book Blast

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions . Megan Slayer will be awarding a prize pack with a necklace ...