Friday, August 12, 2022

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Blog Tour: Buck Up, Buttercup by Anna Alkire

Buck Up, Buttercup
Anna Alkire
Publication date: June 30th 2022
Genres: Comedy, Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

All’s fair in love and war.
With Randi and Buck, it’s hard to tell the two apart…

An uptight, self-contained college girl, Randi Becker just needed one thing: a room. Somewhere she could study, and keep away from the things that most confuse and frighten her: people.

Unfortunately, the “nice quiet place” she reserved turns out to be a room in the campus’ most raucous house. A place seemingly designed to make studying impossible, made even worse by the other girls’ non-stop drama.

But then Buck, a fun-loving cowboy whom all the ladies love, shows up…and everything gets much worse.

Buck seems to have it all: friends, fun, and a never-ending line of admirers. But what he most desires is a break. So when Buck spots Randi, he figures she’s a perfect decoy: he can play up a “crush” on her that will take him off the market; buy him some breathing room. And if he can tease her a bit, and get under the skin of the uptight busybody? Well, that’s just gravy.

But Buck is about to find more than he bargained for. Randi’s strong-willed, opinionated, difficult—and maybe just what he needs. And Buck isn’t alone. Soon Randi wonders as well…if the world she wanted is really the world she needs. If her future is nothing more than a diploma on the wall. And if the most important thing in her world isn’t a grade, but the cowboy who’s planted his boots firmly in her heart.

Fans of Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare and Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game will delight at this mix of romantic comedy, contemporary romance, and cultures colliding in a campus town with a western flair. Grab your copy today, and fall in love with Buck Up, Buttercup!

Goodreads / Amazon

Momma Says: 3 stars⭐⭐⭐

As soon as I read the blurb for Buck Up, Buttercup, I wanted to read the book. It seems like laughs are in short supply these days, so I try to grab them whenever the opportunity arises. This one certainly has potential, and there are parts of the book that deliver. We have the cowboy and the nerdy girl, so opposites attract is the most prominent trope in my opinion. I'm always up for an opposites attract romance (could be that I had 17 wonderful years with my opposite), and I love when the smoke clears and the couple figures out they have more in common than they thought. Of course, the sparks that ignite between them with the push and pull are pretty fun too. There are some areas that gave me pause - things that I think could've been left out without compromising the storyline, and I kind of feel like those things could alienate some readers from a promising new author. That aside, the story has good pacing, so it's easy to keep turning those pages, especially on a relaxing day on the porch swing: comfy seat, good coffee, and a romantic comedy with a sexy cowboy, which is exactly how I read most of this one. I'll be interested to see how this series and this author grow with each new book. 

Author Bio:

Anna Alkire has been a long-term college student, a business owner, and a world traveler. Now “settled”—with a sigh and a cup of decaf—Anna lives in Washington state, where she splits her time between a husband who thinks the North Pole would be a great place to live, chasing her hurricane of a son, learning new handicrafts, and creating worlds full of the kind of romance and fun she most wants to read. Find more about her (and grab a freebie or two) at her website, annaalkire.com.

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Newsletter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

4 comments:

  1. Thanks for being on the tour! This sounds like a fun read overall! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. The book sounds like an interesting read. Great cover!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you for the review, sounds like a good read.

    ReplyDelete

The Casanova Family Series Tour and Giveaway

  The Biggest Win Casanova Family Series Book 1 by Carolina Jax Genre: Contemporary Small Town Sports Romance  From the time I was a y...