Monday, November 21, 2022

✱✱Book Review✱✱ How to Date a Fury by Luna Joya


Who knew dying would be the easy part of my day? 
 
It all started the night Chase, my mountain lion shifter ex, reappeared. We’d had a whole good girl/bad boy romance going until he abandoned me a decade ago. I’d gone to Syn City for a little fun before being trapped in my hometown forever.  
 
Then I was murdered by a maniac and my night really fell apart.  
  
But somehow, Chase managed to strike a deal on a blood oath and bring me back as a Fury. He wants a second chance at romance, claiming we’re fated mates. 
 
Now, I have to deal with the guy I thought I’d never see again, find and punish my murderer, and participate in a giant supernatural roller derby (long story)—all while trying to earn my wings. 
  
And if I fail? I’ll end up dead. Again…only this time, it’ll be permanent. 
  
All I can say is that it’s a good thing hell hath no fury like an actual Fury.  
 
How to Date a Fury, the first book in the Syn City trilogy, is a dark, sexy, paranormal romance featuring a reluctant Fury and the shifter who broke her heart but wants a shot at mending it. Happily ever after (and plenty of snarky fun) guaranteed. Perfect for fans of Linsey Hall, Jaymin Eve, and Amelia Hutchins. Download today. 


Publication Date: September, 2022
Publisher: City Owl Press
Page Count: 232
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Mystery
ASIN: B0BB99WLPJ

Buy Links:

Want to delve into more of Luna's work? Check out her completed Legacy Series, her on-going Wicked Series, and for our LA readers, check out her signing at Book Carnival on October 29th from noon-2 p.m.
Want to keep up to date on Luna's work? Follow her on AmazonBookbubGoodreads, and join her street team group, Luna's Lovelies, for excerpts, giveaways, and sneak peeks at upcoming work.


Excerpt
​“I’ll miss you tonight, but I’ll make it up to you.” She nips at my mouth, the playfulness delighting my cat and the sexiness making me want to kiss her until her wings come out. But there’s no time before my shift starts.
“Promise?” My voice becomes an almost purr with my lion so close to the surface.
“Uh huh.” She speaks so softly that I wouldn’t catch her words but for my shifter hearing. “I’ve been wanting to try me on top with my wings out and maybe a little flying if you’re up for it.”
“Oh, I’ll be up for it. My cat can climb however high you need me.”
She smacks at my thigh with a grin, and I want to catch hold of this moment, this easiness between us and save the memory if things don’t go the way I hope, if my Fury can’t commit her second life to shifter world standards, if she’s the one leaving me this time around, or if I’m the only one who believes we’re truly fated mates. 

Momma Says: 5 stars⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I don't know which caught my attention first: the title or the cover. They're both terrific, then add in that sassy blurb, and this was a book I had to read. I'm pretty new to Luna Joya's work, but if this is any indication of what's to come, I'm in for the long haul. The story is well-written and fast-paced. The storyline is original and fun, something that isn't easy to do in the genre. I loved the idea of furies, roller-derby furies no less, and the fated mates trope with a mountain lion shifter was the icing on the cake as far as I'm concerned. Dottie and Chase are so easy to root for, and the chemistry is off the charts.
There is a lot going on here, but once the key players are introduced and things get moving, keeping track of what's what isn't a problem. One of the things I'm pickiest about in urban fantasy is world-building and not changing the rules you've set willy-nilly. World-building is very well done here, and I appreciate that it's done organically throughout the book rather than big dumps of information all at once. And the Syn City Shifters world is a fascinating one that I'm planning on spending much more time in.
So, this series start is basically a fated mates paranormal romance, urban fantasy, with a bit of mystery thrown in. It's full of action and hard to put down. I can't wait to see what's next for this terrific world. I will say that Luna Joya has her work cut out for her if she plans to top this one because How to Date a Fury sets the bar pretty high. 



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Luna Joya writes sexy hexy romances in the award-winning Legacy Series.
Fluent in sarcasm and penal code, Luna prosecutes by day and writes at night. She loves history, especially Los Angeles and Hollywood lore.
A survivor of traumatic brain injury with steel body parts, she lives in SoCal with her combat veteran husband and their two-pound terror of a rescue pup.
Find more about Luna Joya on her website: https://lunajoya.com/

No comments:

Post a Comment

I Love You Today Tour and Giveaway

  I Love You Today The Trading Heartbeats Trilogy Book 2 by Julie Navickas Genre: Contemporary Romantic Suspense  Because when you leas...