Sunday, April 2, 2023

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Table 13: An addictive suspense thriller by Mike McCrary


A gripping, fast-paced thriller for fans of Harlan Coben and Karin Slaughter.

They seemed like such a nice couple.

It was a typical evening at the restaurant. But when psychopaths show up for dinner, " typical" dies.

Hank Quinn moved to New York to chase his dream of becoming a writer. But he quickly finds that loneliness and lack of success aren't the worst things that can happen to a small-town kid in the big city. One night, during the dinner rush at the high-end restaurant where he works, his life takes an unimaginable turn.

The lovely, attractive couple seated at table 13 is not what they seem. They have a dark past and some even darker plans for Hank.

Hank desperately searches for a way out while the husband-and-wife killing team pulls him deeper into their world and their unspeakable crimes. As the nightmare unfolds, he learns about the chilling fate they have planned for him and the people he loves if he doesn't complete their sick, twisted tasks.

Can he stop them before it's too late? Can Hank survive their twisted agenda?

Table 13 is a heart-stopping suspense thriller that will keep you turning pages until you reach the shocking conclusion. If you like Harlan Coben and Karin Slaughter, you'll love best-selling author Mike McCrary's latest nail-biter.

Momma Says: 3 stars⭐⭐⭐

Mike McCrary's Table 13 has an intriguing premise, and it's a fast-paced read. There's an intensity from the beginning, and you can't help but feel sorry for Hank as his desperation grows. That said, I prefer my thrillers a little less predictable. It's not without some shocking moments, and there are a couple of good twists along the way, but more often than not, it was just a bit too easy to guess what was coming or at least some part of it. I feel like this one is more about the heart pumping, holy moly, this couple is crazy kind of intensity than the kind of thriller that keeps you guessing. The book has a vibe that made me think of Natural Born Killers and maybe a little bit of Stephen King thrillers in the sense that not everything is tied up in a neat little bow so you can sleep easy after the last page has been turned. It's the kind of story that leaves you wondering how many cold-blooded killers are out there at any given time.
McCrary has an interesting writing style that I don't recall seeing before. I kept thinking it needed a better variation of the sentences. A lot of the sentences are pretty short, and it made things somewhat stilted. I could be wrong, but I get the feeling it was done that way on purpose because of the pacing, and I may be the only one, but it didn't work very well for me
All things considered, I'd have to say this thriller probably landed in the wrong lap. It's not really what I expected. I do think this book has a lot of appeal for those who like this type of thriller. As for me, I liked it well enough. It's not something I'd read more than once, but it is worth the read. 



No comments:

Post a Comment

Blurb Blitz Tour: The Secret Cottage by Kate Ellington

  THE SECRET COTTAGE Kate Ellington ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Historical Romance ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Isabel Tate yearns for the simple pleasures she took for ...