Sunday, January 24, 2021

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Shipped by Angie Hockman

 

The Unhoneymooners meets The Hating Game in this witty, clever, and swoonworthy novel following a workaholic marketing manager who is forced to go on a cruise with her arch-nemesis when they’re up for the same promotion.

Between taking night classes for her MBA and her demanding day job at a cruise line, marketing manager Henley Evans barely has time for herself, let alone family, friends, or dating. But when she’s shortlisted for the promotion of her dreams, all her sacrifices finally seem worth it.

The only problem? Graeme Crawford-Collins, the remote social media manager and the bane of her existence, is also up for the position. Although they’ve never met in person, their epic email battles are the stuff of office legend.

Their boss tasks each of them with drafting a proposal on how to boost bookings in the Galápagos—best proposal wins the promotion. There’s just one catch: they have to go on a company cruise to the Galápagos Islands...together. But when the two meet on the ship, Henley is shocked to discover that the real Graeme is nothing like she imagined. As they explore the Islands together, she soon finds the line between loathing and liking thinner than a postcard.

With her career dreams in her sights and a growing attraction to the competition, Henley begins questioning her life choices. Because what’s the point of working all the time if you never actually live?

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne, Shipped is a fresh and engaging rom-com that celebrates the power of second chances and the magic of new beginnings.



Momma Says: 4 stars⭐⭐⭐⭐

If you're looking for a feel-good romance that's high on smiles and low on heat, Shipped is perfect for that. The story is a combination of enemies to lovers and workplace romance - of course, what's more romantic than a cruise for a romance? This one is told from Henley's point of view, and this couple is just so darn cute that you can't help but root for them. I love an enemies to lovers romance anytime. They're always great for creating sparks between a couple, and when it's done right, that fine line between love and hate is obliterated. Angie Hockman definitely did it right. Intimacy is fade to black, so it's a clean, fun story with loads of smiles and laughs. And laughs are definitely something we can use more of these days. The whole thing has a charm about it, and Henley and Graeme make for a darling couple that I won't soon forget. 

❃❃ARC provided by NetGalley and Gallery Books

No comments:

Post a Comment

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Confessions on the 7:45 by Lisa Unger

  From master of suspense Lisa Unger comes a riveting thriller about a chance encounter that unravels a stunning web of lies. Selena Murphy ...