Saturday, November 13, 2021

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Wrong Alibi: An Alaskan Mystery by Christina Dodd

 


From New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd comes an all-new thriller featuring a bold and brash female protagonist, a brutal and twisty murder that will have readers turning the pages and a villain that will have them keeping the lights on at night. WRONG ALIBI is perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Karin Slaughter, and Sandra Brown.

WRONG JOB
Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run.

WRONG NAME
Evie's escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse.

WRONG ALIBI
At last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she’s once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family…


Momma Says: 3 stars⭐⭐⭐

Wrong Alibi wasn't quite the gripping thriller the blurb promises. It wasn't bad, but it fell way short of what I expected and hoped for. I did finish it, but the suspension of disbelief required for this story to work was just a bit too much for me. Don't get me wrong, I realize fiction is just that, but I need to at least find some plausibility, some logic. I just feel like too many things relied on chance, and the odds of everything lining up were just too high. As I said, though, I did finish, so it wasn't all bad. I think it could've even stepped up a notch without the romance. It didn't do anything for the story and was just a distraction. I know I'm in the minority here, but it is what it is, and as I said, it wasn't terrible, but it wasn't terribly good either.



No comments:

Post a Comment

The Complete Mara of the League Series Tour and Giveaway

  The Witches of Crannock Dale Mara of the League Book 1 by Thomas M. Kane Genre: Fantasy  When an enemy army threatens eleven-year ol...