Wednesday, February 16, 2022

✱✱Book Review✱✱ Blog Tour: The Rebound by Catherine Walsh

 

A newly single girl. A tall dark handsome stranger. What could go wrong?

It’s 7 a.m. on a Monday morning and Abby Reynolds isn’t where she wants to be. She wants to be in her beautiful loft apartment in Manhattan, drinking a coffee with her fiancé.

Instead, she’s heading back to the childhood home in rural Ireland she swore she’d never return to, with some big old secrets. Namely that she’s suddenly found herself unemployed, homeless, and absolutely 100% single.

She’s feeling all out of luck. Until the first person she meets after she touches down is an absurdly hot guy called Luke, who offers her a lift home. Gazing deep into his sparkling emerald-green eyes, Abby knows instantly that he’s exactly what she needs to take her mind off everything. The perfect rebound.

It’s a flawless plan. Until the next day, when Abby realizes who he actually is. Not just a stranger. He is, in fact, Luke Bailey, aka the boy next door. Luke Bailey who—so help her God—she’s pretty sure she once shared baths with, back when they were kids. Not that she can allow herself to imagine him in a bath now, not without blushing from head to foot.

And judging by the smirk on his face, the same Luke Bailey who’s known exactly who she was the whole time… And who, like everyone in the village, still thinks she’s a high-flying New Yorker… who’s getting married next year.

Abby is certain getting under Luke will help her get over her ex. But the truth is stopping her. Can she admit to everyone back home that she’s single and has lost everything? Because, if she wants the boy next door, she may just have to…

The perfect feel-good romantic comedy that will make you laugh until you cry and fall completely in love. Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes, and Emily Henry won’t be able to put this down!


Momma Says: 4 stars⭐⭐⭐⭐
Romances set in beautiful Ireland seem to be all the rage lately - not that I'm complaining, I've been right there grabbing up stories with an Ireland setting as well. That's what led me to The Rebound. Well, that and this is a Catherine Walsh book, and I was in desperate need of a feel-good romance I could get lost in. Abby and Luke did the trick. The story is a slow-burn romance that I suppose could be summed up as charming. Yeah, that's a word I'd associate with this one. The humor ranges from a chuckle to laughing out loud, so it's my kind of romantic comedy. Walsh keeps the pacing steady, and the romance is great for curling up in your favorite chair for a couple of lazy afternoons. It was nice to be transported to a small town in Ireland for a clean, engaging romance with characters that are easy to root for. Catherine Walsh is quickly becoming a go-to author for me when I need to escape for a while. 


Catherine Walsh was born and raised in Ireland. She has a degree in Popular Literature and the only prize she ever won for writing was at the age of 14 in school (but she still cherishes it.) 
She lived in London for a few years where she worked in Publishing and the non-profit sector before returning to Dublin where she now lives between the mountains and the sea. When not writing she is trying and failing to not kill her houseplants.





No comments:

Post a Comment

Euphoric Wonderland Book Tour

An Eclectic Collection of Psychedelic Poetry to Stimulate the Senses and Open the Mind Poetry Date Published: 03-21-2022 ...